• Advertisement

Stephen Hillenburg diagnosed with ALS

Guest hilaryfan80

Oh gosh.. I feel so bad for the guy. :( Goes to show you anything can happen to anyone. At least he was allowed to fill out his dream about his franchise series. I hope he'll be alive for at least a few more years..

• Like 3

Guest hilaryfan80

That's terrible. :( Well, I hope everything goes well for him. Maybe we could do a fundraiser for ALS research on SBC.

Heartbreaking news. SpongeBob gave me some of the best laughs in the more difficult times I've had, and this hits me really hard. If he doesn't manage to pull through, I hope he can at least enjoy the last few years of his life.

• Like 5

I am not very good at speaking with sadness, in depth, but this really hit me in an emotional level to see that a creator of an animated show that seriously defined my childhood and liveliness as a fan of cartoon shows/animated movies, as well as an enthusiast/aspirant in animation and general, has became ill. I really hope for the best for Mr. Hillenburg, and the best for the future of the SpongeBob staff and the future of the show itself. This is just really sad to hear.

I also hope for the best of the future for Nickelodeon/Nickelodeon Animation as well, even if I have stated many times that they have been on a rocky road. It must mean a lot for them to see that Hillenburg is diagnosed with a serious illness.

Edited by Steel Sponge
  • Like 8

12 minutes ago, Steel Sponge said:

I am not very good at speaking with sadness, in depth, but this really hit me in an emotional level to see that a creator of an animated show that seriously defined my childhood and liveliness as a fan of cartoon shows and animation and general, has became ill. I really hope for the best for Mr. Hillenburg, and the best for the future of the SpongeBob staff and the future of the show itself. This is just really sad to hear.